Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

American Legion installs 2019-20 officers

July 31, 2019
By ED FRANKS ( , Pine Island Eagle

Sunday afternoon, the American Legion Post 136 hall was nearly filled to capacity as the officers for 2019-2020 were officially sworn in.

Post 136 officers plus Auxiliary, Sons of the American Legion and American Legion Riders were sworn in at the dinner ceremony.

District 13 Sons of the American Legion Commander Christian Rapp hosted the event stressing the four pillars of the American Legion: Veteran Affairs & Rehabilitation, National Security, Americanism and Children and Youth.

Article Photos

American Legion Post 136 officers present for the meeting.


"Each of these pillars encompasses a variety of programs that benefit our nation's veterans, its service members, their families, the youth of America and ordinary citizens," Rapp said. "These programs make a difference in hundreds of thousands of lives each year."

"This is an important day for the American Legion," Commander Ed Mitchell said. "I'm excited to be the new commander. I'm a little new at this but I've been offered a lot of help and support from so many people. I'm looking forward to the coming year."


Commander Ed Mitchell

1st Vice George Bailey

2nd Vice - Tom Larkin

3rd Vice - vacant

Adjutant - Patricia LaCour

Membership Tom Lewis

Finance Officer Herm Remus

Chaplain Bob Hoernel

Historian Patricia LaCour

Judge Advocate - Tom Ruscik

Sgt at Arms - Peter Trazzera

Service Officer Pete Trazzera

Past Post Commander Bob Minor

Executive Committee Fred Landry

Executive Committee Dave Moore

Executive Committee Gene Gargano


President - Angie Romero

1st Vice - Claudine Alvarez

2nd Vice - Donna Smith

Secretary Ilene Fay

Treasurer - Joann Buck

Chaplain Melissa Meyer

Sgt at Arms Judy Warfield

Historian Susie Bailey

Executive Board - Sue Roddie, Mary K. Dobbin, Joanne Coreia,

Past President Claudine Alvarez



Commander - Mike Nigbor

1st Vice - Don Barber

2nd Vice - Rick Thomas

3rd Vice - Joe Correia

Adjutant - Rich Williams

Finance - Tom Ruscik

Historian - Robert J. Miner

Sgt. at Arms - Dave Glavich

Judge Advocate- Jim Love

Chaplain - Paul Flagg



Director - Don Barber

Assistant Director - Mike Nigbor

Secretary and Membership - Kim Miner

Chaplain - D.J.Ruscik

Webmaster and Historian - Donarae Hill

Sgt at Arms - Gene Gargano

Treasurer - Tom Ruscik

Ride Coordinator - Rich Williams

Road Captains - Bob Miner and Joe Correia,

For additional information about the island American Legion, which is located at 4106 Stringfellow Road, St. James City, please call 239-283-4434 or visit



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web